I Remember the Future

SKU: IRtF-01
$ 18.95

I Remember the Future collects Michael A Burstein's Hugo and Nebula nominated science fiction short stories and novelettes. Introduction by Stanley Schmidt.

Also available from the following retail partners

Trade Paperback: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Bookshop.org
Digital: Kindle | Nook | iBooks | Weightless | Kobo | DriveThruFiction

Table of Contents

I Remember the Future: The Award-Nominated Stories of Michael A. Burstein includes the following stories (plus author notes preceding each story and a special introduction from Analog editor Stanley Schmidt):

1. “TeleAbsence” (Analog, July 1995)
• Nominated for the 1996 Hugo Award for Best Short Story
• Winner of the Analytical Laboratory Award for Best Short Story of 1995
• Winner of the Science Fiction Chronicle Reader Award for Best Short Story of 1995
2. “Broken Symmetry” (Analog, February 1997)
• Nominated for the 1998 Hugo Award for Best Novelette
• Preliminary ballot, 1997 Nebula Award
3. “Absent Friends” (Analog, September 1998)
• Preliminary ballot, 1999 Nebula Award
4. “Reality Check” (Analog, November 1999)
• Nominated for the 1999 Nebula Award for Best Novella
• Nominated for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award
5. “Cosmic Corkscrew” (Analog, June 1998)
• Nominated for the 1999 Hugo Award for Best Short Story
• Preliminary ballot, 1998 Nebula Award
6. “Kaddish for the Last Survivor” (Analog, November 2000)
• Nominated for the 2001 Hugo Award for Best Short Story
• Nominated for the 2001 Nebula Award for Best Short Story
7. “Spaceships” (Analog, June 2001)
• Nominated for the 2002 Hugo Award for Best Short Story
8. “Paying It Forward” (Analog, September 2003)
• Nominated for the 2004 Hugo Award for Best Short Story
• Preliminary ballot, 2004 Nebula Award
9. “Decisions” (Analog, January/February 2004)
• Nominated for the 2005 Hugo Award for Best Short Story
10. “Time Ablaze” (Analog, June 2004)
• Nominated for the 2004 Hugo Award for Best Novella
11. “Sanctuary” (Analog, September 2005)
• Nominated for the 2006 Nebula Award for Best Novella
• Winner of the Analytical Laboratory Award for Best Novella of 2005
12. “Seventy-Five Years” (Analog, January/February 2005)
• Nominated for the 2006 Hugo Award for Best Short Story
13. “TelePresence” (Analog, July/August 2005)
• Nominated for the 2006 Hugo Award for Best Novelette
14. Empty Spaces (original to this volume)
15. I Remember the Future (original to this volume)


“"Empty Spaces," the first of the new tales, is another speculation in the particle-accelerator saga of the three supercollider stories. I Remember the Future is a touching ode to the golden age sf writers who inspire Burstein. Like those of the early sf masters, Burstein’s stories aren’t always carried by the characters; speculation takes center stage more often than not. That said, he has got a good hand on the classic genre tropes, and the collection is well worth reading.”
Booklist, Regina Schroeder

“Older fans will admire [Burstein’s] dedication to remembering and honoring the past.”
Publisher’s Weekly

“Few writers have made such a splash with their first appearance in Analog, and even fewer have so successfully sustained their initial popularity—for good reason, as you’ll see in these stories.”
Stanley Schmidt, editor of Analog Science Fiction and Fact

“Michael A. Burstein is an Isaac Asimov for the new millennium: fiercely intelligent and wonderfully good-hearted, with a clear, accessible writing style. His stories are, by turns, clever, moving, and witty. Few writers have such an impressive list of award nominations, and this most welcome collection proves that the science-fiction short story is alive and well. Bravo!”
Robert J. Sawyer, Hugo Award-winning author of Hominids

“I still remember the thrill I got when I read my first short story written by one of the Great Masters of the Form: Phillip K. Dick, Harlan Ellison, Ray Bradbury, Robert Silverberg, Phillip José Farmer, Isaac Asimov. The first time I read Michael A. Burstein I knew another Great Master of the Form had been added to that prestigious list. Michael’s stories are quite wonderful, consistently perfect examples of the art. He sets up his own precise and scientifically accurate worlds and populates them with thoroughly believable and interesting characters. His stories are so good they change the way you view reality. If you’ve read him, you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t, what are you waiting for? Buy this book, and get started today. You’re in for a real treat. It’s like discovering a bright new star.”
Gary K. Wolf, creator of Roger Rabbit

“When you read all these final-ballot stories, you’ll know why Michael A. Burstein has a legion of enthusiastic fans. I Remember the Future is a remarkable collection, displaying all of his many strengths.”
Mike Resnick, Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author

“Michael A. Burstein writes securely and powerfully within the great tradition of modern Campbellian science fiction; in fact no one of his generation may do so with his force and fire. He has immersed himself whin our central literature, carried it forward in love, honor and signal accomplishment. These stories are intrinsic and they will live. Burstein is paying forward and he is paying back. His work assures me that through it, our own will last. Therefore this collection gives me hope; it is the first book of a career which will carry all of us across the river.”
Barry N. Malzberg, Locus Award-winning author of Breakfast in the Ruins

I Remember the Future is a true rarity in this day and age – a collection of clear, scientifically daring, emotionally deep and satisfying short stories by a master in the craft of writing science fiction. This collection by Michael A. Burstein contains the stories I first turned to in the issues of Analog in which they first were published in the past two decades, plus two new gems. They reminded me then, and again now, of the way I felt when I first discovered short science fiction in the Allerton Branch of the New York Public Library in the 1950s – a feeling that made me a lifelong fan.”
Paul Levinson, Locus Award-winning author of The Silk Code


Cover art by Bob Eggleton.
ISBN 9780981639062
436 pp.

About the Author

Michael A. Burstein won the 1997 Campbell Award. His short fiction, mostly in Analog, has been nominated for ten Hugos and four Nebulas. He and wife Nomi live in Brookline, Massachusetts, where he is a Library Trustee and Town Meeting Member. He has two physics degrees, and attended Clarion. His first collection (I Remember the Future: The Award-Nominated Stories of Michael A. Burstein) was released in late 2008 by Apex Publications.