Beautiful Sorrows

SKU: sorrows-01
$ 15.00

Read "The Container of Sorrows" from Beautiful Sorrows.

Also available from the following retail partners:

Trade Paperback: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository |
Digital: Kindle | Nook | iBooks | Weightless | Kobo | DriveThruFiction


There is a place where sorrows pile up like snow and rest in your hair like cherry blossoms. Boys have wings, monsters fall in love, women fade into nothingness, and the bones of small children snap like twigs. Darkness will surely devour you—but it will be exquisitely lovely while doing so.

Mercedes M. Yardley’s Beautiful Sorrows is an ephemeral collection encompassing twenty-seven short tales full of devastation, death, longing, and the shining ribbon of hope that binds them all together.

Table of Contents:

“The Boy Who Hangs the Stars”
“Pixies Don’t Get Names”
“Show Your Bones”
“The ABCs of Murder”
“The Container of Sorrows”
“Flat, Flat World”
“She Called Him Sky” (as “Flowers”)
“Blossom Bones”
“The Container of Sorrows”
“Black Mary”


"Beautiful Sorrows is beautifully done from start to finish. Consider it highly recommended."
Hellnotes, Brian M. Sammons


ISBN 9781937009533
156 pp.

About the Author:

MERCEDES M. YARDLEY wears red stilettos and writes whimsical horror. Her work has appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies including John Skipp's Bram Stoker Award™-winning Demons: Encounters with the Devil and His Minions, Fallen Angels, and the Possessed, and A Cup of Comfort for Parents of Children with Special Needs. Mercedes lives in Sin City.