Apex Publications

Last Dragon (eBook)

Last Dragon by JM McDermott weaves a literary fantasy novel piecing together a story of revenge, justice, ambition and power, in the style of Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
Amazon USA Amazon UK Amazon CA
Barnes & Noble The Book Depository
Kindle Nook iBookstore
Audible Listen to the first chapter

2008 Crawford Award nominee

An intricate web of stories weave together to tell a tale of revenge, justice, ambition, and power. Zhan has been sent to find her grandfather, a man accused of killing not only Zhan’s family, but every man, woman, and child in their village. What she finds is a shell of a man, and a web of deceit that will test the very foundations of a world she thought she understood.

A tale of revenge that grows into something more, Last Dragon is a literary fantasy novel in the tradition of Gene Wolf and Gabriel Garcia Marquez. J.M. McDermott brings the fantasy genre to new literary heights with a remarkable first novel that reconstructs what you expect from an epic tale.


  • "Its call for our participation in assembling a story from the novel’s brief fragments and long silences reminds us why we read, makes plain the interactivity that is at the heart of reading’s entertainment. Last Dragon literalizes our impulse to Story, to construct narratives out of our memories and circumstances"
    --BSC Book Reviews, Matt Denault
  • "A journey focused on revenge becomes an odyssey of self-discovery and of the founding of an empire in blood and sacrifice. As Zhan searches for her grandfather, a creature no longer human that has killed his entire village, she travels in the company of Seth, a fire-breathing shaman; Korinyes, a gypsy who is more than she seems; and Adel, a paladin present at the slaying of the last dragon. McDermott's debut novel requires careful reading to piece together a story told in nonlinear form, as mercurial as memories and as visceral as death. This fantasy adventure belongs in libraries where literary fantasy in the tradition of Gene Wolf, A.A. Attanasio, and Gabriel García Márquez is popular."
    --Library Journal, Jackie Cassada

Cover Artist:
Magdalena Broniecka

About the Author:

J.M. McDermott graduated from the University of Houston in 2002 with a BA in Creative Writing. He resides in Arlington, Texas with an assortment of empty coffee cups, overflowing bookshelves, and crazy schemes. Visit J.M. on the web at http://jmmcdermott.blogspot.com/.

Subscribe to our Newsletter:

Subscribe via RSS Follow Us on Twitter Join Us on Facebook +Apex Publications Subscribe via Newsletter


Join Our
Minion Read and Review

Apex Publications Praise